Update Celebrity Gossip, Bio, News, Health, & Much More

The every four years Footballing Event FIFA World Cup: List of Winners till now

The every four years Footballing Event  FIFA World Cup: List of Winners till now

Football World Cup better known as FIFA World Cup started back in 1930 when the first world cup took place in Uruguay. At the time, World Cup was the only tournament without a qualifying round because only several countries were related with FIFA invited for the competition.

World Cup Winners: Brazil Team
Caption: World Cup Winners: Brazil Team
Photo: Sportskeeda.com

Only thirteen countries participated in the 1st ever world cup. Then, Uruguay succeeded to become first ever World Champions beating Argentina in the final. Following 1930, 20 world cup has taken place and 8 vivid teams won the competition opposite Brazil. Brazil was able to break record 5 times.

FIFA World Cup Winners
Caption: FIFA World Cup Winners
Photo: Sporty Ghost

Furthermore, Germany and Italy won 4 titles each pursued by Uruguay and Argentina who made it twice. England, France, and Spain are the only countries to have won the world cup only once. Let's take a look at the list of winners from 1930 to 2014.

Year Host Winner Score Runner-Up
1930 Uruguay Uruguay 4-2 Argentina
1934 Italy Italy 2-1(AET) Czechoslovakia
1938 France Italy 4-2 Hungary
1950 Brazil Uruguay 2-1 Brazil
1954 Switzerland West Germany 3-2 Hungary
1958 Sweden  Brazil 5-2 Sweden
1962 Chile Brazil 3-1 Czechoslovakia
1966 England England 4-2 West Germany
1970 Mexico Brazil 4-1 Italy
1974 West Germany West Germany 2-1 the Netherlands
1978 Argentina Argentina 3-1(AET) the Netherlands
1982 Spain Italy 3-1 West Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina 3-2 West Germany
1990 Italy West Germany 1-0  Argentina
1994 USA Brazil 0-0 (3-2P) Italy
1998 France France 3-0 Brazil
2002 Japan & South Korea Brazil 2-0 Germany
2006 Germany  Italy 1-1(5-3P) France
2010 South Africa Spain 1-0(AET) Netherlands
2014 Brazil Germany 1-0(AET) Argentina

There were no World Cups held in 1942 and 1946 because of World War II. Most noteworthy, Brazil has won the World Cup 5 times (1958, 1962, 1994, and 2002) and lost two finals (1982 and 1950). Pele is the only player to raise a world cups that is a unique record. Germany and Italy have received 4 World Cups each.

3 of Germany’s World Cup victory came as West Germany (1954, 1974, and 1990). The Netherlands is the only team to display in the final over 2 teams but failed to win the world cup. They lost 3 finals (1974,1978 and 2010).